The Executive Committee is made up of the President and the Vice President, and the Executive Secretary. It can make operational and administrative decisions to streamline the proceedings for the approval of contributions, legacies, encumberments and additional donations to FONTAGRO’s resources.


President of the board of directors FONTAGRO


Armando Bustillo Castellanos (from Honduras) was elected Vice President of the Regional Fund for Agricultural Technology (FONTAGRO) in October 2014.

A member of FONTAGRO’s Board of Directors since 2011, he is Deputy Executive Director of Agricultural Technology Generation in the Agricultural Science and Technology Bureau (DICTA) of the Secretariat of Agriculture and Livestock of Honduras.

He teaches in the Department of Soil Conservation at the National Autonomous University of Honduras and the Regional Central University; he is also Coordinator of the Technical Degree Program in Agricultural and Livestock Production there.

Currently he is Honduras’ national representative before the Governing Body of the Plant Genetic Resources at the global level.

He is representative of the Agricultural Science and Technology Bureau (DICTA) before the national agricultural research institutes of Ibero-America (INIAs), and member of the Technical Group of Technology, Transfer and Innovation of the Central American Agricultural Technology Integration System (SICTA).

Armando Bustillo is an agricultural engineer, graduate of the National Autonomous University of Honduras..

julio kalazich

Vice President of the board of Directors of FONTAGRO

Julio Kalazich, a Chilean national, was elected vice president for the same period. Mr. Kalazich is an agricultural engineer, graduated from Universidad Austral de Chile, and he holds a PhD in plant genetics from Cornell University, United States. He is the National Director of the Agricultural Research Institute (INIA), under Chile’s Ministry of Agriculture.

At INIA he led the potato genetics improvement program and the task force that has released 11 potato varieties, several of which, as a whole, cover more than 50% of the area of this crop in Chile. He has extensive international experience regarding collaboration with different potato genetics improvement programs worldwide.




Executive Secretary of FONTAGRO


Hugo Li PunDr. Hugo Li Pun is FONTAGRO’s Executive Secretary, based at the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), Washington, DC. USA. He is a specialist in agricultural research and innovation and he has worked uninterruptedly in seven international organizations fulfilling senior management positions in four of them. He was Deputy Representative in the USA and Senior Specialist in Strategic Partnerships for IICA.

He was Deputy Director General of Centro Internacional de la Papa for Corporate Development in Peru and he also was Resident Director in Ethiopia and Director of the Sustainable Production Systems Program at the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI). He worked at the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) in Ottawa, Canada. His research experience in samllholder agriculture started at the Tropical Research and Training Center (CATIE) as coordinator in Panama. Previously he was an Associate Professor at the National Agrarian University La Molina (UNALM) in Peru and consultant to the private sector. He has been invited frequently as a speaker in multiple international meetings. Through the years he has led negotiations and implemented R & D projects with various organizations including the World Bank, IDB, Asian Development Bank. African Development Bank, CIDA, IDRC, IFAD, USAID, Ford Foundation and various governments including Spain, Switzerland, Korea, Japan, China And italy, among others. He has significant experience in development, an entrepreneurial personality and enjoys working in teams with flexibility and pragmatism.

He is Bachelor of Sciences, Animal Sciences, Universidad Nacional Agraria La Molina. Lima, Perú and has a Ph.D. in Nutrition, Meat and Animal Sciences and Biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin. Madison, Wisconsin, USA.